The Self Service Portal allows you to manage your Experian products and services, including licenses, tokens and users for the account. You can also get insights by running reports on usage and set up notifications so the right people are alerted when something needs your attention.
There are two user permission levels:
Note: If your account doesn't have a user with administrator permissions then get in touch with your Experian Account Manager or contact Support.
Users with administrator permissions can perform the following user management tasks.
To create a new user:
The new user is added to the account. An email will be sent to the user inviting them to the Self Service Portal. Once they have confirmed their email address and set their password, they'll be able to sign in.
Note that you can't change your own permission level.
To change a user's permission level:
When you delete a user, anything set up by them, such as tokens or notifications, will remain.
Note that you can't delete your own user profile.
To delete a user, follow these steps:
This section provides answers to FAQs about tokens.
You cannot edit or delete your own profile, only another administrator can do this on your behalf. If you're the only administrator on the account, you need to give another user administrator permissions or create a new user with administrator permissions.
For security reasons, as the user's email address is also their username, you can't change the email address. If you need to update an email address, first you must delete the user and create a new user profile for them.
All log activities from the deleted user, such as any tokens or notifications that were created by them, will remain but won't be associated with the newly created user.
The Notifications feature is in Beta, but you can test it for yourself here.
Notifications help you to monitor your products and to ensure that
Your account is checked daily, and you'll be alerted when the rules you have set are triggered. This means that as long as your notifications are set up appropriately, you'll only need to log in to your account when there's been an unusual activity, or to diagnose a potential issue.
We recommend that you set the notifications levels so that they're only triggered infrequently. Getting too many notifications means they can easily be ignored - so to prevent this, adjust they settings accordingly. We also recommend checking that the notifications are sent to the right users.
There are some notifications that are automatically generated by the system. You can edit these but they can't be deleted:
‘Your Experian data quality product license is nearing expiry’
‘Your Experian data quality product license has expired’
‘Your Experian data quality product is running low on credits’
‘Your Experian data quality product has run out of credits’
These two notification types are similar, but have slightly different uses.
Number of requests is useful for tracking a static amount as a threshold level.
Some examples of things you could set up to be alerted of:
|The product has stopped being used||Select the product and set the rule as "Chargeable requests less than (<) 100".|
Any failed requests
|Set the rule as "Failed requests greater than (>) 0".|
Your development team is using too many credits during testing
|Select the token they're using and set the rule as "Total requests > 1000".|
Your annual license is making more requests than the agreed fair usage amount
|Set the rule as "Chargeable requests > 2,740". This is the fair usage amount per day; the standard amount of fair usage is 1 million, the rule is checked daily so divide this by 365.|
Number of requests change is useful for being alerted to extreme changes in behavior versus normal behavior for your account. It still looks at the number of requests yesterday, but rather than comparing to a static number (as above) you specify a percentage change that would mean to you that something significant has changed when compared to the number of requests the:
The name of the notification is used as the email subject line, so we recommend giving it a name that is specific and that makes sense to the recipients. For example, for product license about to expire, "Website integration that validates email addresses expires in a month".
Each notification can be sent to all account users, or you can select specific users to receive specific notifications. See here for details on how to see all the users in an account and how to add new users.
You can't edit the Notification type once it's been saved, but you can delete or disable a notification and replace it with a new one.
This section provides answers to FAQs about notifications.
Every day after midnight GMT.
Yes. In fact, it's a good idea is to have multiple notifications with increasing levels of urgency, reflected both in the notification name and the number of recipients, as the license end date draws nearer, credit balance diminishes or volume used dramatically changes.
There's two things you can check:
If the product license end date was already the same or lower than the value you entered when you were in the portal setting the rule then we don't send you an email. This means you won't be alerted to things you already know about.
If the product license credit balance was already the same or less than the value you entered when you were in the portal setting the rule then we don't send you an email. This means you won't be alerted to things you already know about.
Think of a token as your username and password. When you sign in to a website you need to use your credentials; similarly, when you want to access any of our APIs, you need to provide your token(s).
A token is a unique alphanumeric code that looks like: ab123ab1-abc1-1234-abcd-ab1a123a1a12.
We recommend you treat your tokens like your passwords: keep them secure and change them often.
The purpose of a token is to authenticate the requests you send to our APIs.
Now you can perform the following actions:
We suggest you create and use multiple tokens. Check out How many tokens should I use? to find out why.
To create a new token:
Activate tokens so they can be used to send requests to our APIs.
To activate a token:
Disable tokens to prevent them from being used in requests to our APIs.
To disable a token:
You might want to edit a token to:
To edit a token:
If you don't secure your tokens, there's the risk of unauthorized parties using your licensed products, which you may be charged for.
One of the easiest and most effective ways to secure your tokens is to periodically change them, just like you do with your passwords.
You can take additional steps to secure your tokens:
Follow How do I edit a token? to implement the steps listed above.
You need to find out the values of tokens so you can use them to send requests to our APIs.
To find out the value of a token:
By default, a license comes with a token, which applies to all the products you are entitled to use through the respective license.
However, we recommend you create and use at least one token per environment (development, testing, staging, production).
Consider using multiple tokens for your production environment. This way, it’s easy to monitor and create reports on product usage and different integrations you might have.
Note: You cannot use a token across multiple licenses.
To check if a token is working correctly, you need to test it, by making an API call.
You will know if your token is working correctly based on the status code of the response you get from the API:
|Status code||Is my token working correctly?|
|200||The request was successful and your token is working correctly.|
|400||The request was not successful. You might have forgotten to add the token in the request header.|
|401||The request was not successful. You might have used an incorrect token. Check the Self Service Portal to make sure you’ve used the right token.|
|403||The request was not successful. The token is valid, but it might be disabled. You can activate it in the Self Service Portal.|
There are several reasons why a token might not be working:
You can create usage reports for all of your accounts, licenses, and products (currently excludes Clean Application & Clean API).
Usage information includes credits used, the number of searches submitted and results returned.
You have encountered a seed address. A seed address is a non-existent address that will deactivate DPV functionality if it is searched upon. Seed addresses are used to prevent the illegal creation of verified address lists.